Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa, Karmakar, Jitu Rai to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
Prestigious `Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna' award will be conferred on P V Sindhu (Badminton), Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics), Jitu Rai (Shooting) and Sakshi Malik (Wrestling) for their extrodinary performance at Rio Olympics. Sindhu won silver and Malik won bronze medal for the country at the Rio Olympics.

It has also been decided to confer Dronacharya Awards 2016 on Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Raj Kumar Sharma (Cricket), Bishweshar Nandi (Gymnastics), S Pradeep Kumar (Swimming-Lifetime) and Mahabir Singh (Wrestling - Lifetime).

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events.

Arjuna Awards 2016 will be given to Rajat Chauhan (Archery), Lalita Babar (Athletics), Souray Kothari (Billiards & Snooker), Shiva Thapa (Boxing), Ajinkya rahane (Cricket), Subrata Paul (Football), Ms Rani, Raghunath V R (Hockey), Gurpreet Sing, Apurvi Chandela (Shooting), SoumyajitGhosh(table tennis), Vinesh, Amit Kumar (Wrestling), Sandeep Singh Manna (Para0Athletics) and Virener Singh (Wrestling -Deaf).

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016. Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh.

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.