Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015: Indian bureaucrat Sanjiv Chaturvedi and NGO Goonj's founder Anshu Gupta to be honored along with 3 others
Noted Indian bureaucrat, Sanjiv Chaturvedi (who was removed from the post of chief vigilance officer at AIIMS) and founder of NGO Goonj, Anshu Gupta are the two Indians among the five people who would be honored with the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2015.
Whistleblower Indian Forest Service Officer, Sanjiv Chaturvedi is currently the deputy secretary of All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). He was removed in August last year from his post of chief vigilance commissioner at AIIMS after he raised the issue of alleged irregularities at the institute.

The 2002-batch Indian Forest Service officer has confirmed this development and said, "Thank you; this is a great honor. I am speechless; it seems honesty and one's struggle for justice don't go unnoticed," as reported by The Hindu.

Anshu Gupta left his corporate job to start the NGO Goonj in 1999. His NGO collects used clothes, household goods and converts them into resources for the poor. He also confirmed the development and said, "Now I feel that what we are trying to do is going in the right direction. I feel that finally cloth has been recognized as a charitable product."

Magsaysay Foundation said that Chaturvedi is being recognized for "his exemplary integrity, courage and tenacity while Gupta is being recognized for his creative vision in transforming the culture of giving in India, his enterprising leadership in treating cloth as a sustainable development resource for the poor."

The other awardees in the list were Kommaly Chanthavong, from Laos who is being recognized for her efforts to develop the ancient Laotian art of silk weaving, Ligaya Fernando-Amilbangsa from the Philippines for her campaign to preserve the endangered artistic heritage of southern Philippines and Kyaw Thu from Myanmar for his generous compassion in addressing the fundamental needs of both the living and the dead in Myanmar.

The Magsaysay award celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president after whom the award is named. It is given every year to individuals or organizations in Asia who manifest selfless services.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.