Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Ipl 2018
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians; battle for revenge
Just like the IPL 2010 semi final, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians will play for the final berth of the IPL 2011. The winner of tonight's match will play against the MS Dhoni-led..
TONIGHT IN the second qualifier of the Indian Premier league 2011, Royal Challengers Bangalore will take on Mumbai Indians at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai to qualify for the Saturday's final against local team and defending champion Chennai Super Kings.

In the previous edition of the IPL'>IPL, both Mumbai and Bangalore teams met at the same stage, where the Sachin Tendulkar-led Mumbai Indians won by 35 runs and qualified for the final. Saurabh Tiwari, who is currently playing for Royal Challengers, was the top scorer for the Mumbai team.

In the IPL 2011, Royal Challengers Bangalore finished at the top of the points table after the league stage, whereas Mumbai Indians was at the third place.

In the first qualifier on Tuesday at Mumbai, Bangalore lost against Chennai by six wickets. After batting first the Royal Challengers scored a modest total of 175 runs with the help of an unbeaten 70 runs by Virat Kohli.

Until the 16th over of Chennai's inning, Bangalore was dominating the game, but in the last four overs Challengers bowlers failed to check the run flow and conceded 59 runs. However, Chris Gayle gave away only five runs in the 18th over of the game. Chennai batsmen hit the bowl seven times over the fence.

Earlier in the league stage, Mumbai Indians won by nine wickets against Royal Challengers Bangalore. The host team Challengers scored 140 runs in 20 overs, in reply, Mumbai Indians chased the target in 18.3 overs with the help of unbeaten half centuries of captain Sachin Tendulkar and Ambati Rayudu.

In the ongoing IPL 2011, the top three run getters of the tournament are from Bangalore and Mumbai. Royal Challengers' Chris Gayle is leading the list with 519 runs, whereas Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar are neck-to-neck with 514 and 513 runs each. Tendulkar has hit maximum number of fours (60) in the tournament, whereas Gayle has smashed 39 sixes so far this season.

In bowling, Mumbai pacers Lasith Malinga and Munaf Patel have shared 48 wickets with 28 and 20 wickets each. Sreenath Aravind of Royal Challengers is the leading wicket taker for his side with 17 wickets.

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Mumbai Indians second qualifier of the IPL 2011 will start at 8:00 pm tonight. Given below are the squads of Royal Challengers and Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2011:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Daniel Vettori (Capt.), Mayank Agarwal, Sreenath Aravind, Arun Karthik, BN Bharath, Raju Bhatkal, AB de Villiers, Muralidharen Gautam, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Kaif, Abrar Kazi, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Charl Langeveldt, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ryan Ninan, Asad Pathan, Luke Pomersbach, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rilee Rossouw, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Saurabh Tiwary, Johan van der Wath, Jonathan Vandiar.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (Capt.), Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, T Suman, Munaf Patel, Aiden Blizzard, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Andrew Symonds, Davy Jacobs, James Franklin, Dilhara Fernando, Ray Price, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Aditya Tare, Ali Murtaza, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pawan Suyal, R Satish, Sarul Kanwar, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuzvendra Singh Chahai.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
chris gayle
(114 Articles)
(952 Articles)
kieron pollard
(72 Articles)
sachin tendulkar
(791 Articles)
virat kohli
(275 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.