Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
RTI Activist Subhash Chandra Agrawal awarded SR Jindal prize
SJ Foundation has chosen to honour Subhash Chandra Agrawal with SR Jindal Prize for 2012 under the category 'Crusade Against Corruption' for his 'untiring and continuous effort to expose corruption'.

SUBHASH AGRAWAL has used the Right to Information (RTI) Act to bring to light numerous corrupt practices including 2G spectrum scam and Commonwealth Games scam. The decision was taken by a high level Jury headed by Mr. Justice R.C.Lahoti, former chief justice of India.

Mr Agrawal is fighting against corruption, malpractices and irregularities in public life and for brining accountability in the judicial system with the weapon of RTI.

Some of Mr Agrawal’s notable contributions in exposing corruption and lack of transparency are 2G spectrum scam, irregularities and corruption in Commonwealth Games, appointment of CVC, regulation of fee structure by private universities, process of judicial reforms, file notings being made public under RTI Act, etc. Mr Agrawal has been taking up issues of national and public interest vigorously by writing letters in newspapers also for which he holds the “Guinness World Record.’

The ‘SR Jindal Prize – 2012’ was awarded to Mr Agrawal jointly with Late Satyendra Kumar Dubey, Sanjeeb Singh Katiyar and Ajay Shankar Dubey in the field of ‘Crusade against Corruption’. The Award carries a Cash Prize of Rs. 1 crore to be shared equally. The total prize money this year will be Rs. 8 Crores where eight prizes of Rs. 1 Crore each will be awarded shortly in eight categories.

The SR Jindal Prize has been instituted last year to accolade exceptional service of current significance rendered by individuals or organisations for the welfare of Indian citizens in the country. It is expected that the recognition garnered by the S R Jindal Prize awardees will catalyze their efforts towards social upliftment.

SJ Foundation had honoured 27 Outstanding Selfless Workers, including APJ Abdul Kalam, Santosh Hegde and Anna Hazare, by bestowing S R Jindal Prizes at a glittering ceremony held in February this year. Those honoured included individuals and institutions who are beacons of selfless service to the society.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
abdul kalam
(227 Articles)
anna hazare
(407 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.