Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Shiv Sena calls cabinet expansion as 'BJP expansion, not NDA expansion'
The recent expansion of Modi's cabinet seems to have not gone well with the Shiv Sena, a major ally of the BJP in the NDA government. Shiv Sena argued that all the 19 new members added to the cabinet today were affiliated to the BJP and not the NDA Government.
Shiv Sena leader, Sanjay Raut, while speaking to ANI said that the party had always given paramount importance to the pride of its party and Maharashtra and never sold its self respect for the sake of power.

"Every face inducted today is from the BJP. Ramdas Athavale came to the Rajya Sabha from BJP quota, Anupriya Patel merged her party with the BJP. They did not invite Akali Dal or the Telugu Desam, the Shiv Sena has no qualms about not being part of expansion," Raut said.

Shiv Sena President, Uddhav Thackeray expressing his disappointment over the list of new cabinet ministers, said that his party would not "beg" for cabinet berths.

"We are a dignified party with self-respect. Whatever comes, it should be with respect. We shall not beg for anyting," Thackeray told media persons.

Terming the allocation of cabinet berths as a "secondary issue", he said, "We shall not stand helplessly before anybody's doors and ask for anything."

The 19 new cabinet ministers were sworn-in in a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan here.

Prakash Javadekar has been promoted to the rank of cabinet minister. The other 18 members have been included as Ministers of State.

After the dropping of five ministers, today's expansion has taken the total strength of the Council of Ministers to 78. The maximum number of ministers in the Council is 82 (15 per cent of the total strength of the Lok Sabha, which has 542 members).

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.