Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Super Sunday: ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final - India looks for its 14th win against Pak in ICC tournaments
In the final battle of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, two biggest cricketing rivals, India and Pakistan will face each other on a super Sunday, June 18 at the Oval in London.

If India wins against Pakistan in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final it will be India's 14th victory against them in ICC tournaments.

Since 1992, both India and Pakistan have played 15 times in ICC tournaments across all formats. And the record favours India by 13/15. Pakistan won for the first time against India in an ICC tournament during the ICC Champions Trophy 2004. Pakistan's second victory against India came in the ICC Champions Trophy 2009. Post Champions Trophy 2009, India has never lost to Pakistan in an ICC tournament.

This will be the second time in an ICC event's final where India and Pakistan will play for the trophy, first being the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007. And in that match, India defeated Pakistan clinching the T20 World Cup. This time also the chances are bringht for Team India for its 14th victory against Pakistan in ICC tournaments across all formats.

India and Pakistan have played each other in six World Cup matches, five T20 World Cup matches and four Champions Trophy matches and India has won 6 out of 6 matches against Pakistan in the World Cup, 5 out of 5 in the World Twenty20 (including a bowl-out after a tie) and 2 out of 4 in the Champions Trophy.

Here's a look at all the matches when India and Pakistan met in the ICC events:

1992 ICC World Cup, Sydney - India won by 43 runs
1996 ICC World Cup, Bangalore - India won by 39 runs
1999 ICC World Cup, Manchester - India won by 47 runs
2003 World Cup, Centurion - India won by 6 wickets
2004 Champions Trophy, Birmingham - Pakistan won by 3 wickets
2007 World T20, Durban - Match tied (India won in the Super-over)
2007 World T20 Final, Johannesburg - India won by 5 runs
2009 Champions Trophy, Centurion - Pakistan won by 54 runs
2011 World Cup, Mohali - India won by 29 runs
2012 World T20, Colombo - India won by 8 wickets
2013 Champions Trophy, Birmingham - India won by 8 wickets (D/L)
2014 World T20, Mirpur - India won by 7 wickets
2015 World Cup, Adelaide - India won by 76 runs
2016 World T20, Kolkata - India won by 6 wickets
2017 Champions Trophy, Birmingham - India won by 124 runs (D/L)

In the ICC Champions Trophy, India is the defending champion, having won the tournament in 2013 and was also the joint-winner in 2002; whereas this the first ever final for Pakistan in the Champions Trophy. Earlier, Pakistan had reached the semi-finals in 2009, 2004 & 2000.

India's road to final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017:

Group stage:

India vs Pakistan: India won by 124 runs (D/L Method)

India vs Sri Lanka: India lost by 7 wickets

India vs South Africa: India won by 8 wickets

Second Semifinal:

India vs Bangladesh: India won by 9 wickets

Pakistan's road to final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017:

Group Stage:

Pakistan vs India: Pakistan lost by 124 runs (D/L method)

Pakistan vs South Africa: Pakistan won by 19 runs (D/L method)

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka: Pakistan won by 3 wickets

First semi-final:

Pakistan vs England: Pakistan won by 8 wickets

Editorial NOTE: This article is categorized under Opinion Section. The views expressed in this article are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of In case you have a opposing view, please click here to share the same in the comments section.
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.