Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
The battle for Lok Sabha elections 2014 to begin from April 7
Ending the speculations, the Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. The polling will begin on April 7 and will last till May 12. The entire election will be conducted in 9 phases. The counting will be on 16 May. None of the above (NOTA) facilities will be provided to voters along with appropriate instructions in the coming Lok Sabha polls.

The Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampth along with Election Commissioners H S Brahma and Dr Nasim Zaidi made these announcements at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi during a press conference. Along with the Lok Sabha polls, three states namely Andhra, Odisha and Sikkim will also go to Assembly elections.

The Lok Sabha elections will be held on April 7, 9, 10, 12, 17, 24, 30; May 7 and 12, and will cover 543 constituencies and respective Assembly constituencies. Elections in UP and Bihar will be conducted in six phases and on the same days. Delhi and Haryana will have one poll day, April 10. Jharkhand will have three poll days April 10, 17 and 24.

The Election commission has taken various factors into consideration to fix the election schedule like seasonal factor, school and college examination schedules of states, central education boards and harvesting season. People living in vulnerable areas will be given adequate protection to exercise their vote and all naxalism hit states will be covered in one single day.

The election commission has given another opportunity to the voters to enrol themselves in the voters' list before elections. The voters across the country can enrol themselves on March 9. On this day election officers will verify electoral rolls and will allow applications. This time the number of polling stations are 93000, which is 12 percent more than the polling station during the 2009 elections, as reported by the Indian Express.

The dates for voting in various states are:

  • Andhra Pradesh- 30 April and 7 May

  • Bihar- 10 April, 17 April, 24 April, 30 April, 7 May and 12 May

  • Delhi- 10 April

  • Gujarat- 30 April

  • Haryana- 10 April

  • Jammu & Kashmir- 10 April, 17 April, 24 April 30 April and 7 May

  • Maharashtra- 10 April, 17 April and 24 April

  • Uttar Pradesh- 10 April, 17 April, 24 April, 30 April, 7 May and 12 May

  • West Bengal- 17 April, 24 April, 30 April, 7 May and 12 May

Agree :
28.57 %
Disagree :
71.43 %
Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.