Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Champions League T20
The T20 Champions League story so far
The fourth edition of the T20 Champions League is under way. The Champions League fever is getting to the people. Let's have a look at the major facts and figures of the last three editions of the T20 Champions League.

THE SHORTEST format of the game of cricket has become very popular. After the West Indies team won the 2012 T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka, the focus has now shifted to the T20 Champions League, which is taking place from October 13 – 28 in South Africa. The competition would see participants from all over the world with India having the most number of teams - 4. Other nations such as South Africa and Australia have two teams each while England and New Zealand have one team for the championship. The tournament , which first started in 2009 has been a major success and has seen some good matches, filled with great individual performances to help their respective team win the championship.

The first edition of the tournament was won by New South Wales where they defeated Trinidad and Tobago in Hyderabad. The first edition was a successful one with players putting their best foot forward. It was JP Duminy from Cape Cobras who looked impressive with the bat by being the highest run-scorer with 224 runs. Another team-mate of Duminy, AP Puttick scored 104 runs, which was indeed the first century of the championship as well. In the bowling department, it was Dwayne Bravo who was the most successful bowlers with 12 wickets.

The second edition of the tournament was held in South Africa. The crowd in South Africa was superb where they were seen dancing on the green stands with beer on their hands. This is what T20 brings to the table. It was the Indian batsman, Murli Vijay who made heads turn due to his batting exploits, where he amassed 294 runs. Kevin Pollard was at his menacing best along with Suresh Raina - with both lofting the balls in the air for the maximum. Pollard and Raina hit 14 and 12 sixes in the 2010 edition. When many thought that the quicks would rule the roost on the bouncy pitches of South Africa, it was not to be as Muralitharan and Ashwin were the best bowlers where the latter took 13 wickets and the former 12 wickets, as per espncricinfo stats. 

Mumbai Indians won their first T20 Champions League title in the last edition (2011) by winning another Indian franchise, Royal Bangalore Challengers. David Warner was at its best when he was at the batting crease, with 328 runs to his name with an impressive average of 109 runs in the tournament. Two bowlers from Trinidad and Tobago, Ravi Rampaul and Sunil Naraine made life difficult for batsmen as they were the best bowlers in the championship with 12 and 10 wickets each. Malinga was successful with 10 wickets as well.

Now with the 2012 T20 Champions League edition to start soon, new records are going to be set in the 2013 edition. It is the fans that are going to benefit with quality teams at the offering in the tournament.


Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists
In This Article
t20 world cup
(126 Articles)

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.