Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Urdu poetry lovers enjoy 6th All India Mohan Lal Bhaskar Mushaira
The All India Mushaira in memory of Mohan Lal Bhaskar by the MLB Foundation, organized at the campus of Manav Mandir Senior Secondary School, enthralled the lovers of Urdu poetry on Sunday evening.
Prominent amongst those who captured the complete attention of the audience with their emotive poetry on the occasion included Wasim Barelvi, Rahat Indori, Atul Ajnabi, Azm  Shakri, Tahir Faraz, Ritaz Maini, Faiyyaz Farooqui, Liqat Jafri, Abrar Kashif, Mohammad Rafi, Nadeem Shad, Mussawar Ferozepur.

The event was organised in the memory of former Indian spy in Pakistan, Mohan Lal Bhaskar, who while working as an agent with the Indian security agencies, intruded 16 times into Pakistan but was apprehended during the 17th sortie following the betrayal by another double agent. Bhaskar was awarded death sentence by a Pakistan court which was later commuted to 14 years of imprisonment. Bhaskar was later repatriated under the Shimla agreement on December 9, 1974.

On this occasion, a pencil sketch prepared by Ranjit Singh from Moga of late Mohan Lal Bhaskar was presented to the Bhaskar’s family.

Another event in the evening was to honour two prominent personalities in recognition of their services to the society and country. The Life Time Achievement Award was given to Inderjit Singh Khalsa, a poet from Moga for his contribution in the field of culture and education and Youth Achieve Award to Uminder Dutt, Director Krishi Virasat Mission working for awareness of environmental health issues and Eco-sustainable rural development.

Also present on the occasion were Kamal Sharma, Punjab BJP President, Arpit Shukla, IG, D.P. Singh, Manjit Singh Narang, DC Ferozepur, K.K.Yadav, DC Bahtinda, Lakbbir Singh, SP(HQ), besides other dignitaries.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference

Interesting content

merinews for RTI activists

Create email alerts

Total subscribers: 208206
Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.