Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
West Bengal's name officially changed: Assembly passes resolution
The 'West' in 'West Bengal' has been laid to rest. On Monday, the West Bengal Legislative Assembly passed a resolution for changing the name of the State to 'Bengal' in English and 'Bangla' in Bengali and 'Bangal' in Hindi. Presently, the state is being called 'Paschim Banga' in Bengali.

The issue had seen political parties differing widely resulting in the Congress, Left Front and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) not supporting the resolution. Congress legislatures even staged a walk out during discussion of the resolution while BJP opposed it. The Left Front had demanded an amendment to the name change resolution

"We are proud today. Those who objected the resolution will not be forgiven by history," Mamata said after the resolution was passed in the assembly.

With the resolution being passed, a proposal to give effect to the name change will be sent to the Centre. The change in name will come in effect only after the Parliament gives its consent for the same.

Banerjee had raised this issue earlier. Many politicians as well as bureaucrats were not happy with the name 'West Bengal' as while speaking at national level meetings, they had to speak at last as to speak, states are chosen alphabetically.

According to Mamata Banerjee, this was the reason that the state's voice was being neglected or unheard at these forums.

West Bengal is not new to name changes. While the capital of the State had its name changed from Calcutta to Kolkata, there have been other name changes as well.

Mamata Banerjee has changed the names of metro stations, roads, stadium and even lakes. Tollygunge, a metro station was renamed as Mahanayak Uttam Kumar, Lee Road as Satyajit Ray Dharani, Arterial Eastern Metropolitan Bypass as Biswa Bangla Sarani, and Salt Lake stadium was renamed as Vivekananda Yuva Bharati Krirangan.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.