Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
Yeddyurappa takes oath as the next Karnataka CM after SC refuses to stay the swearing-in
After a post-midnight courtroom drama, the Supreme Court today refused to stay the swearing-in of BS Yedyurappa as the next chief minister of Karnataka.

The hearing of the case that began at 2:11 am lasted for nearly three-and-a-half hours. It was a last-ditch effort by the Congress-JD(S) combine to somehow stall the formation of a BJP-led government in the state.

However, the three-judge apex court bench made it clear that the swearing-in and the government formation would be subject to the final decision of the court. 

The three-judge apex court bench comprising of justices AK Sikri, Ashok Bhushan and SA Bobde has posted the matter for hearing on Friday morning.

While issuing notices to the Karnataka government and Yeddyurappa, the apex court ordered placing before it the letter of support from MLAs presented by the BJP to the Governor for staking claim to form the government.

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala, on Wednesday night, had invited BS Yeddyurappa to form the next government in the state.

BJP's BS Yeddyrappa took oath as the 23rd chief minister of Karnataka at 9 am on Thursday. He was administered the oath of office by Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala. The 75-year-old is slated to become the CM of Karnataka for the second time.

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.