MLC polls a big set back to ruling parties in Telugu states
Narendra Ch | 27 Mar 2015

The results of polls conducted to four setas of Legisaltive Council in Telugu states- Andrha Pradesh and Telangana said to be a big set-back to the ruling parties – TDP and TRS, which the BJP is the lonely party in a jubiliant mood as its candidate N Ramachanradra Rao had won from Hyderabad with a thumping majority.

The elections were held for two teachers constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and  two graduates constituencies in Telangana on March 22. The ruling parties could get one each seat, defeating in crucial seats, for which they had mobilized all their resources fielding `heavy weights' in the fray.The defeat of TRS and TDP is being seen as reflective of the growing dissatisfaction among the educated over their policies in their respective States.

Particularly, it was a bitter-sweet memoent for TDP chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu for losing MLC seat from twin Godavari districts considered its bastion. It could satisfay with the success of TDP supported Ramakrishna in the State's new capital region. Naidu admitted that "TDP's defeat in the twin Godavari districts is a shock as we virtually swept the general polls in these two districts. It indicates lack of coordination between party leaders and MLAs".

On the otherhand, the TRS lost the MLC seat in joint capital of two Telugu states Hyderabad to the BJP but managed to win in Warangal region, the heart of Telangana. The BJP's victory is all the more discomfiting for the ruling TRS as the saffron party is going all-out to expand its base in Telangana with an eye on the ensuing corporation polls. Morever, TRS chief and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao had moved all his energies to win over Hyderabad seat in view of forthcoming polls to Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC).

TRS candidate and Telangana joint action committee leader G Deviprasad Rao's defeat at the hands of BJP's Ramachander Rao from Hyderabad-Ranga Reddy-Mahbubnagar constituencyis being attributed to the unhappiness among the unemployed over the TRS government's failure in filling vacancies in the State government.Ramachander Rao trounced TRS contestant G Deviprasad with a margin of 13,318 votes.

"My victory indicates good days are ahead for BJP in Telangana. I am sure we will win the ensuing GHMC polls with the cooperation of our ally, TDP," says Ramachadnra Rao.Telangana Congress leader Mohammed Ali Shabbir said, "As the TRS failed to keep its promise of providing one job to each family in the State, graduates taught it a fitting lesson in the MLC polls."  Telangana TDP leader A Revanth Reddy went a step further, saying these results indicate that people are vexed with the TRS government.

However, Devi Prasad alleged that opposition Congress Party conspired with the BJP to ensure his defeat in the elections. He said his defeat in the election was not a referendum of the people on the K Chandrashekar Rao government. 


Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao was aid to be particularly shocked realizing that employees and students, who rallied behind the TRS during the statehood agitation and played a key role in the party's victory in Assembly elections in 2014, also voted against it in the MLC polls. He reviewed the voting pattern with Cabinet ministers and asked them to re-devise plans and strategies to win over urban voters, especially Seemandhra people living in the GHMC area besides adopting a more friendly approach towards students and employees.

Ministers Mohd Mahmood Ali, Nayani Narasimha Reddy, T. Padma Rao Goud and Talasani Srinivas Yadav are learnt to have suggested various options to the Chief Minister to win over city voters ahead of the crucial GHMC elections, which are expected by October or November this year.

However, Chandrasekhar Rao was happy with the winning the Nalgonda-Warangal-Khammam graduates' constituency as it has once again proved that its vote-bank in areas where Telangana sentiment is strong is in tact. Its candidate P Rajeshwar Reddy had defeated nearest rival, BJP's Errabelli Rammohan Rao.


Here, local BJP leadership faulting defeat for defects in selectin of party candidate. As the candidate was with TRS till last year's election, they felt most of party cadre didn't showed much enthusiasm over the poll. As a result, they failed to register many graduates as voters.


Interestingly, no sitting candidate was re-elected from these four constituencies. While they were defeated in Andhra Prdesh, they kept away from the fray in Telanglana expecting possible defeat. In twin Godavari districts, the defeat of TDP candidate Chaitanya Raju, heading corporate educational institutions, said to be frequent defections from one party to another party.