Mukesh Ambani, Priyanka Chopra, J P Vaswani to Receive Priyadarshni Academy Global Awards
sacchitjogi07 | 19 Sep 2014

Leading personalities from diverse walks of life have been chosen to receive the Priyadarshni Academy's Global Awards. On 19th September 2014, the likes of Mukesh Ambani, Chairman and Managing Director of Reliance Industries Limited(RIL); Priyanka Chopra, Bollywood Actress; and Dada J P Vaswani, a Religious Leader and Head of the Sadhu Vaswani Mission will be awarded accolades at The Trident, Nariman Point, Mumbai.

The event will be attended by Union Minister Piyush Goyal along with the Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Dilip Walse-Patil and former Union Minister Suresh Prabhu, among many other renowned guests. Nitin Gadkari, Minister for Shipping, Road Transport & Highway; Rural Development and Panchayati Raj for the Government of India will be the Chief Guest at the event.

Since its inception in 1984, this not-for-profit academy has been involved in a variety of socio-cultural activities. For instance, the academy intends to facilitate national integration through encouragement of dance and music.

The academy is also actively involved in a number of environment protection initiatives, in the provision of nutrition and monetary aid to the underprivileged, international cultural exchange programs and promotion of sports and education. It hosted its first Global Awards in 1985. This year will mark the academy's 30th anniversary for the award function.

The Chairman of this establishment, Niranjan Hiranandani, says that through the Global Awards, the academy intends to pay tribute to achievers from around the world that inspire leaders of both current and future generations.

Mukesh Ambani has been selected for the Harish Mahindra Memorial Award to recognize his role as a business leader. In 2012, it was awarded to Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman of Aditya Birla Group for his outstanding contributions to globalization of Indian industry.

The Smita Patil Memorial Award, previously won by Deepika Padukone and Vidya Balan, will go to Priyanka Chopra this year in recognition of her contribution as an actress. The Spiritual Leadership Award will be given to J P Vaswani.

Other notable names on the list of award recipients include Rajshree Birla, Director of Aditya Birla Group, who will be given the Ramakrishna Bajaj Award for her contribution in the field of Corporate Social Responsibility.

CEO of the Miss World Organization, Julia Morley is named for the Save the Children Award while Sir Fazle Hasan Abed from Bangladesh will be recognized for his role in the alleviation of poverty and empowerment of the poor. The award for Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development will go to American economist Jeffrey Sachs.

Other past international winners include names such as Dr. Jacques Rogozinski, General Manager at Inter-American Investment Corporation, for his contribution towards economic development leveraging on small and medium enterprises.

This event is considered highly prestigious and acknowledges outstanding achievements of various individuals in the field of literature, entrepreneurship, science, technology, environment protection, education, and for their work in fields such as fine arts and films.