NIT-Warangal seat allocation criteria creating ripples
Narendra Ch | 07 May 2015

The seat allocation criterion for the National Institute of Technology (NIT)-Warangal is creating ripples among the students in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. At the time of the JEE Main notification, it was apparent that students from both AP and TS are supposed to share seats in the NIT-W that are available under the 50 per cent of home quota.

This procedure was to be followed until a new NIT in AP is set up as per the State Reorganisation Act. However, with the AP government insisting on functioning of the NIT at Eluru in West Godavari district from this academic year itself, the debate of seat sharing has come into focus.

The Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) which finalised the business rules for the joint seat allocation recently stated that under the home quota rule, only the students of a state where the NIT is located will get seats. As the JoSAA didn't mention any separate counselling rules with regard to the NIT-W and the NIT-AP, it appears that students from Telangana will benefit and those from AP will be at loss. 

Home state quota is only for candidates whose home state, as determined by the State Code of Eligibility, is same as the state in which the institute is located," the rules stated. While the NIT-W has 740 seats in all branches, the NIT-AP is likely to have around 100 seats. Of the 100, the AP students will vie for ju­st 50 seats under home quota r­u­­le as against 340 seats in NIT-W.

However, due to the Presidential Order prevailing in the region, a whole lot of non-local students who have studied four consecutive years in Telangana preceding Intermediate should be treated as local candidate.The business rules of the JoSAA also refer that students who studied Intermediate or Class XII are eligible under the home quota rule in the institute of that state.

It also clarifies that 'State Code of Eligibility' is nothing to do with the native place or residence place of the candidate. The confusion is likely to be sorted out when the joint seat allocation will commence through a common web portal from June 25, 2015.