Payback in Gandhigiri stlye.
Alexander Maurya | 09 Sep 2009

This article is about the Border Gavasker Trophy 2008 which was held in India.

It's probably the most anticipated test series of the year. Australia is touring India and there are a lot of expectations from both the teams. After India's last year's tour down under, a new rivalry has been flared up. It's not India vs. Pakistan or the five match Ashes series between Australia and England that people long for, it's the turbunator vs. punter and the pace of Bret Lee vs. class of the master blaster. This rivalry has not just jumped out of the blue; it's a result of lots of close games, great performances, and of course, controversies. Indias tour down under is unforgettable for many reasons, lesser due to the great performances, but much more due to the controversies. All possible intrigue and conspiracies ruled the field in Australia last year; we saw wrong decisions, rage and row among players and of course, lots of sledging. That was just one side of the coin. This coin definitely had to be the foul Sholay ka sikka or the other side would not have been equally rotten. Only Indian players were fined and banned and that too without proper evidence while the Australian players got away without any penalty even though there were undeniable evidences against them. But thats not the end. Yes there was more. The tour made history for its crystal clear biased umpiring. The number of wrong decisions by the umpires were simply too high for the umpires of the elite panel and more than 90% of them were against India. And at the end, all the ridiculous events made sure that Australia won the Border - Gavaskar Trophy 2-1 with one match ending in a draw. Now, after a year, the kangaroos have come to the tiger's den so now it's pay back time but in Gandhigiri style. The series has begun with high standard umpiring and decent behavior of the players which allows India to have an upper hand. Three matches have been played, out of which two have ended in a draw and one was won by India. In this series, quite a few records have been broken. Sachin Tendulkar broke Brian Lara's record of most number of runs in test cricket, he also surpassed 12000 runs in test cricket. In this series, Sourav Ganguly got past 7000 runs in test cricket as well. That was a moment that 'dada' would remember for the rest of his life for it might be the last milestone that he would achieve in international cricket, this being his farewell series. In the third match in Delhi, two Indian batsmen stood out as Gautam Gambhir played a solid 206 run knock while V.V.S. Laxman scored a classy 200* which is another record as it has happened for the first time that two Indian players have scored double centuries in the same inning in a test match. This very game also saw Anil Kumble's 18 year old career comming to an end. Kumble took 619 test wickets in his career which is highest by an Indian. But that's not all, in the second Test match at Mohali, team India created history as the Aussies were totally outplayed by the Indians with India winning the match by a whopping 320 runs margin, which is India's biggest win ever in terms of runs. Now three matches of this fabulous series are over and it's time for the final showdown at Nagpur where Australia is in a do - or - die situation. They have to win this match to level the series and India needs just a draw to wrap up the Border - Gavaskar Trophy 2008. Whatevers the result might be, the series for sure was a huge success. Not only did we see some splendid performances but we also saw the players playing in the spirit of the game.