PPFA bats for public debate on 1951 as cut off year
Nava Thakuria | 12 May 2017

Guwahati: As the debate over the cut-off year for detection & deportation of illegal migrants from Assam gains momentum, Patriotic People's Front Assam (PPFA) came out with the arguments for 1951 as the base year. However, the forum reaffirmed that it would abide by the guidelines of the Supreme Court of India as the matter is still in its jurisdiction.

It may be noted that the accord, which was signed after six years long Assam Movement to deport each & every illegal migrant of erstwhile East Pakistan (now Bangladesh), had agreed to grant citizenship to the those nationals who entered Assam before 25 March 1971, even though the movement was materialized with the target of 1951.

Need not to mention that few million East Pakistani people entered Assam after 1951 till Bangladesh was emerged as a sovereign nation on 16 December 1971, the day when the Pakistani forces under the leadership of AAK Niazi surrendered to Indian commander General Jagjit Singh Aurora. Their Father of the Nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman only declared independence of Bangladesh in the late hours of 25 March 1971.

Since the emergence of Assam Accord, Assam Sanmilita Mahasanga (ASM) continued raising voices for 1951 as the bottom year, which was later supported by Assam Public Works, All Assam Ahom Association, Indigenous Tribal People's Front, Purbotar Hindustani Sanmelan, Prabrajan Virodhi Mancha etc.

However, All Assam Students Union (AASU) and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) maintain their stand in favour of 25 March 1971 as the cut-off date for identification and deportation of illegal migrants under the provisions of the historic accord. Jamiat-Ulema-e-Hind's Assam unit along with the AIUDF and Congress supports the same year of 1971.

"We must not forget that all the Assam movement martyrs starting with Khargeswar Talukder sacrificed their lives for 1951 as base year. So respecting those martyrs the cut-off year should be advanced without changing other clauses of the accord," said a statement issued by PPFA adding that a public debate over the vital issue becomes the need of the hour.

Issued by Rupam Barua, Nava Thakuria, Jagadindra Raichoudhury, Pramod Kalita, Girindra Kr Karjee, Anup Sarma,  Jahnabi Goswami, Suresh Ranjan Goduka, Ravindra Nath, Dayal Kr Nath, Dibson Barua, Gitika Talukder,  Ujjal Saikia, Tarali Chakrabarty etc for PPFA