Sesa Sterlite, Jharsuguda bags two National Awards at '15th National Award for Excellence in Energy Management 2014'
Newsman | 04 Nov 2014

Efficient management of available energy resources has been one of the major thrust areas of Sesa Sterlite Limited's operations across the world. The Aluminium smelter and Captive Power Plant (CPP) unit of Sesa Sterlite Ltd, Jharsuguda (Earlier Vedanta Aluminium Ltd.) have been bestowed the coveted 'Excellent Energy Efficient Unit' award in the '15th National Award for Excellence in Energy Management 2014' in General and Power category respectively on 29-30th October 2014 held at Hyderabad.

The National Award for Excellence in Energy Management was organized by Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) in Hyderabad. The Awards have been instituted to recognize and honor "Excellence" in Energy Management among commercial and office building sector as well as to create an opportunity to share Best Practices and technologies adopted. A panel of judges evaluated companies on the basis of the presentations made on the implementation of Energy Conservation and Management activities. It is noteworthy that more than 200 companies from various sectors such as paints, refineries, power, paper, automobile, steel, cement, and building category applied for this competition. 97 companies were shortlisted and were asked to make a final presentation at the HICC centre in Hyderabad.

Mr. Abhijit Pati, President & Chief Operating Officer, Sesa Sterlite Ltd, Jharsuguda said that this award not only added one more feather in its cap but also reaffirms Sesa Sterlite's commitment towards adhering to greener business practices which are not merely energy efficient but further downscale the effects of their operations on the environment and its constituent Natural Resources.

On behalf of the company Mr. Dayanidhi Behera, N Srinivas, Bijneswar Mohanty, Pratap Singh, Ramesh Patro and Sandhydeep Jena of Smelter and Mr.Manas Tyagi, Prabupada Acharya, Monalisha Das and Anuradha Das of CPP received this prestigious award.