TDP facing discontent on selection of candidates
Narendra Ch | 21 Apr 2014

The Telugu Desam Party has been facing discontent from its ranks on the issue of selection of candidates for the ongoing elections, particularly in Seemandhra region. In the final list of assembly candidates announced today, as many as four sitting MLAs were denied seats.

Among them, prominently the omission of Proddatur MLA Linga Reddy’s name in Kadappa district and awarding the same seat to Varadarajulu Reddy, who was defeated by him in 2009 polls and joined TDP just a week ago, resulted in violent reaction from party cadre. Protesting against this selection, party cadre in large number set fire to large number of party flags in Proddatur.


In the faction ridden Kadapa district, native place of former chief minister Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy, Linga Reddy was the lone MLA elected from TDP in 2009.

Similarly, fielding T. Ramachandra Prabhu, an out-sider ignoring claims of local leaders also attracted severe protests in Mangalagiri of Guntur district. Prabhu contested as Prajarajyam Party candidate from Guntur -2 in 2009 polls, later joined Congress and only recently joined TDP seeking Guntur seat. TDP workers attacked on TDP office in Mangalagiri, damaged furniture and demanded that local candidate should be selected.


In Kurnool district former minister and senior TDP leader KE Prabhakar was upset for fielding a new person as candidate in Lok Sabha polls, ignoring his claims. He had filed nomination as rebel candidate yesterday and announced he will be fielding rebel candidates in all seven assembly segment of the constituency.


TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu’s brother-in-law and former Rajya Sabha member Nandamuri Harikrishna was also upset for ignoring his claim to contest from Vijayawada East or Nuzvid constituencies in Krishna district. Presently he is party’s polit buro member.


A year ago itself, he expressed his desire to contest from Hindupur constituency in Anantapur district, once represented by his father NT Rama Rao. But the seat was given to his brother N Balkrishna. Then, Harikrishna requested to give one of these two seats in Krishna district. But ignoring his claim, Chandrababu Naidu announced candidates for these two seats also. Interestingly, in Nuziveed he fielded former Congress MLA M Venkateswara Rao, who is an outsider to the constituency.


In Tirupati, followers of former MLA Chadalawada Krishna Murthy were angry for ignoring their leader and giving seat to former Congress MLA Venkata Ramana, who very recently joined the party. Likewise, in most of the constituencies TDP fielded those who recently joined the party. While most of them are from Congress, others are from rich communities.


Among 21 Lok Sabha constituencies,TDP is contesting in Seemandhra region, more than 10 are from Congress. While two of them former ministers, two of them are sitting MPs. One industrialist is son of former Congress minister.