TRS won Warangal LS with a massive margin
Narendra Ch | 24 Nov 2015

The Telangana Rastra Samiti (TRS) made history with massive victory in the Warangal Lok Sabha by-poll. TRS candidate Pusunoori Dayakar won the by-election by a majority of over 4,59,092 votes.

At the end of 22 rounds of counting on Tuesday, Dayakar secured 6,15,403 votes. Congress candidate and former minister Sarvey Satyanarayana polled 1,56,311 votes, while BJP-TDP combine candidate of the BJP Pagidipati Devaiah polled 1,30,178. Dayakar broke the records created by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari. Congress and BJP candidates lost deposits. TRS candidate secured majority from the first round till the last round. TRS cadre celebrated Dayakar's victory in Warangal. "A big thanks to Warangal. You've inspired us to work more and better," tweeted K Taraka Rama Rao, the Minister for Panchayatraj, Rural Development and Information Technology and son of Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of Kadiyam Srihari after he was made Deputy Chief Minister. Srihari had won the seat with a margin of 3.92 lakh votes in last year's election. The bypoll was seen a first major political test for the Chief Minister after the government assumed office in June last year. The Congress in particular had put up a spirited campaign, with senior party leaders Sushil Kumar Shinde, Meira Kumar, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Digvijay Singh and Sachin Pilot addressing public meetings.